Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad Bank
Chad F. Bank – Rhode Island DUI Attorney
DUI is a serious offense, and it takes an aggressive attorney to defend you if you’re facing this charge. The law office of Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad. F. Bank specializes in this area of the law. With over a decade of experience practicing law in Rhode Island as a DUI defense attorney, Attorney Bank takes each case seriously, and fights for his clients’ rights.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Rhode Island call Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad Bank now at 401-585-8800 today!
How does Rhode Island Define DWI?
Rhode Island defines the act of driving while intoxicated as the operator of a motor vehicle who is 21 years of age or older and operating the vehicle with a blood alcohol content level at .08% or more.
Rhode Island DUI Laws
DUI is a criminal charge which stands for Driving Under the Influence. This charge involves the suspected use of alcohol or drugs. Under the drunk driving law in Rhode Island, an individual can be found guilty of DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or more. However, regardless of how much of a controlled substance you ingest, you can be convicted of a DUI charge if you’re driving while under the influence.
In sum, a person can be convicted of DUI if:
- His/her blood alcohol content is .08 or above;
- In the event that there is no blood alcohol content reading, if the officer testifies that based on certain observations, the driver was under the influence to a degree that rendered the driver incapable of safely operating; and/or
- Some combination of #1 and #2 above.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Rhode Island call Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad Bank at 401-585-8800 today!
What Are the Penalties for DUI Convictions in Rhode Island?
The penalties for DUI in Rhode Island are serious. The state takes a strong stand against drunk driving because of the detrimental consequences and dangerous results of these actions. In the state of Rhode Island the penalties for Driving Under the Influence are categorized by age and blood alcohol content. There are different penalties for drivers who are under the age of 21 as opposed to drivers 21 and older.
First Time Offender 21 and Older with .08 – .10% BAC
Repeat DUI Offenses
A DUI in Rhode Island is already a serious offense, but repeat offenses call for even more tact in your defense. Repeat offenders face more jail time, fines & penalties, longer license suspensions and the requirement of an Ignition Interlock Device (IDD) installed in their car. Repeat Rhode Island DUI offenders are subjected to a five-year lookback period, meaning previous DUI convictions five years prior to the current accusation will be taken into account during the sentencing. Second time DUI offenders are subject to 10 days to 1 year of jail time, fines up to $1,000, a 1-2 years license suspension and a required IDD. 3rd time DUI offenders are subject to 1 to 5 years of jail time, fines up to $5,000, a 2-year minimum license suspension and a required IDD.
Why do you need a good Rhode Island DUI Attorney?
You can’t afford anything less than the best when it comes to a Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney. You will need strong and effective representation to beat this type of charge. When you speak to Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad F. Bank or one of his associates, you will be provided with excellent DUI defense strategies and be a part of the process while selecting the method for your representation. Call his Rhode Island DUI Defense office today to discuss your representation options at 401-585-8800 or fill out our Contact Form.