RI CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER
REPEAT RHODE ISLAND DUI DEFENSE LAWYER
Repeat Rhode Island DUI Defense Lawyer
Fighting a Rhode Island DUI conviction takes an experienced attorney to achieve successful representation. But when a DUI case involves multiple offenses, experience alone won't get the job done. A repeat Rhode Island DUI Defense requires the skill of a specialized DUI attorney who can develop a defense for your case.
Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney Chad Bank has both the experience and skill to handle your repeat DUI case. Attorney Bank personally handles every aspect of your case from start to finish. From police procedures and reporting to gathering evidence and in-court representation, Attorney Bank will adhere to your case directly every step of the way.
Understanding Repeat Rhode Island DUI Defense Penalties
Repeat Rhode Island DUI Defense penalties and their subjugating strategies are very different from one-time offenses. That's because as DUI offenses repeat, penalties multiply tenfold. The State of Rhode Island defines a DUI as:
§ 31-27-2 Driving under the influence of liquor or drugs. [Effective until January 1, 2015.]. – (a) Whoever drives or otherwise operates any vehicle in the state while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drugs, toluene, or any controlled substance as defined in chapter 28 of title 21, or any combination of these, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor except as provided in subdivision (d)(3) and shall be punished as provided in subsection (d) of this section.
Repeat DUI Penalties
A 1st time DUI offender may face the following penalties:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Fines from $100-$500
- A suspended license from 2-18 months
A 2nd time DUI offender may face the following penalties:
- A minimum of 10 days in jail up to a maximum of 1 year
- Fines from $400-$1,000
- A suspended license from 1-2 years
- An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) may be installed in the car for a set time
At the 3rd DUI Offense, a defnedant is facing felony charges. A 3rd time DUI offender may face the following penalties:
- 1-5 years in jail
- Fines of $5,000
- A suspended license of at least 2 years
- An Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in the car for a set time
If you or a loved one has been charged with a repeat DUI offense, contact the Law Office of Chad F Bank immediately. We understand the hardships you’re facing as a criminal defendant and can help you navigate the system. We focus on results. Call 401-229-5088 to speak with RI DUI Lawyer Chad Bank today or fill out our contact form