Possession of marijuana is the criminal act of unlawfully possessing various quantities of the drug. Marijuana possession leads the state in drug arrests. 50% of adults and over 80% of juveniles. This is more than any other illicit drug. Possession of marijuana while driving will result in an automatic suspension of the offender's driver's license. First-time offenders in Rhode Island will receive 6-month suspensions. Repeat offenders will have their licenses suspended for one year.
Possession of less than 1 kilogram in Rhode Island is a misdemeanor possession. This is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $200-$500.
Possession of 1-5 kilograms in Rhode Island is a felony possession. This carries a mandatory minimum sentence of ten (10) to 50 years in prison and a fine of $10,000-$500,000.
Possession of more than 5 kilograms in Rhode Island is a felony possession. This carries a mandatory minimum sentence of twenty five years (25) to life in prison and a fine of $25,000-$100,000.
If you, or a loved one have been charged with possession of marijuana in Rhode Island, contact Rhode Island Marijuana Offenses Defense Attorney Chad Bank today. Call for your FREE consultation at (401) 229-5088. The Law Office of Chad F Bank has a successful history defending marijuana cases in Rhode Island. We will fight hard for the best possible outcome for your case. Our criminal defense office is conveniently located in Downtown Providence across from the Courthouse. We are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week to discuss your charges.
Rhode Island Marijuana Attorney
The Law Office of Chad F Bank$https://www.chadbanklaw.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/The-Law-Office-of-Chad-F-Bank-Rhode-Islands-Highest-rated-DUI-and-Criminal-Defense-Lawyer.jpg