It only takes a moment for a car accident to occur. In that split second, a DUI offense can become a fatal incident resulting in serious bodily injury or death. In the state of Rhode Island, a traffic accident that is the cause of another person’s death or severe bodily injury can be charged as a felony DUI. The penalty for a first offense DUI resulting in death can be up to a 15-year jail sentence. Securing an experienced DUI attorney is critical to the success of your case.
Rhode Island has very strict laws when it comes to drunk driving/DUI with penalties seemingly increasing each year. To further complicate the matter, DUI penalties are increased dependent upon the situation, such as when the driver is under 21 or you blow over a .15 BAC. There are also separate penalties in place if you if you refuse the breathalyzer test.
For a complete listing of Rhode Island's DUI Laws, visit the State of Rhode Island General Assembly at their WEBSITE.
Proving Intoxication in Rhode Island DUI Cases
In a Rhode Island DUI case, the prosecution is required to prove you were intoxicated at the time of the accident. A driver in Rhode Island is considered legally drunk when:
Non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered intoxicated when their BAC is .08 or greater
Commercial drivers are considered intoxicated when their BAC is .04 or greater
Any driver under 21 years of age is considered intoxicated when their BAC is .02 or greater
Rhode Island Penalties, Punishment and Sanctions
Rhode Island administers harsh penalties for those convicted of a DUI resulting in serious bodily harm of another.
31-27-2.2: If a person operates a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or with a prohibited alcohol or drug content and his conduct causes the death of a another person it is a felony punishable by 5 to 15 years and not less than $5000 nor more than $10,000.
If a person commits a second or subsequent violation within a five-year timeframe, the convicted will face two to 15 years of jail time, a $3,000 to $10,000 fine and a revoked license for up to four years.
Experienced DUI Resulting in Bodily Injury or Death Defense Lawyer
Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad Bank will thoroughly review your alcohol-related driving offenses case. Attorney Bank will take the time to explain and identify the strengths and weaknesses during your consultation and help you understand your rights. Our legal experts will ensure that you understand the process completely and keep you updated as your case develops.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI resulting in bodily injury or death contact Providence Rhode Island DUI Attorney Chad Bank at 401-229-5088 for a free consultation. Our office is conveniently located in downtown Providence across from the courthouse.
RI DUI Bodily Injury Lawyer
The Law Office of Chad F Bank$https://www.chadbanklaw.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/The-Law-Office-of-Chad-F-Bank-Rhode-Islands-Highest-rated-DUI-and-Criminal-Defense-Lawyer.jpg