Rhode Island Shoplifting Defense Lawyer

Rhode Island Shoplifting Defense Attorney Shoplifting, also known as petty theft, is defined as the criminal activity of stealing from an establishment or retailer. Under Rhode Island law, it is categorized as a misdemeanor and carries serious fines or even jail time. By law, shoplifting can be viewed as several actions including:
  • Stealing items
  • Changing price tags
  • Removing shopping carts beyond permitted areas
  • Any criminal activity with intent to deprive the merchant

Have You Been Accused of Shoplifting?

If you or someone you know has been accused of shoplifting, you must consult with a criminal defense attorney who is well-versed in this area of practice. An experienced defense attorney will evaluate the details of your case thoroughly and help you weigh your options. Common shoplifting defense strategies can benefit your case by decreasing the jail time and fines you may face if convicted of your charges. These criminal defense approaches may include:
  • Raising defenses
  • Plea Bargaining
  • Diversion programs
The Rhode Island Criminal Defense Attorneys at The Law Office of Chad Bank have over a decade of experience representing client who are facing a criminal conviction in Rhode Island courts. We are available for you 24 hours a day 7 days a week. If you have been charged with shoplifting contact Rhode Island Shoplifting Attorney Chad F. Bank at 401-229-5088 or fill out our Contact Form.
(d) Any person convicted of the crime of shoplifting shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) or two times the full retail value of the merchandise, whichever is greater, but not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by imprisonment for not more than one year, or both; provided, any person convicted of the crime of shoplifting merchandise with a retail value of over one hundred dollars ($100) who has previously been convicted of shoplifting shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by imprisonment of not more than five (5) years, or both.