Have you ever wondered what the legal drinking limit in Rhode Island is for a DUI? In Rhode Island, you will be charged with a DUI or DWI if you are suspected or proven to have a Blood Alcohol Content or BAC of over .08%. You can also be arrested if you are suspected or found to be under the influence of illegal drugs which could impair your driving ability.
The legal drinking limit in Rhode Island is different for those who are not 21 years of age or older. If you are less than 21 years of age and stopped on suspicion of a DUI charge, the police will likely submit you to a breathalyzer test, unless you are thought to be under the influence of illegal drugs. If you do blow into the breathalyzer and your level is .02% or higher you are considered to be above the legal drinking limit in Rhode Island.
Commercial License Limit
There is also a special legal drinking limit in Rhode Island for those that have a special license called a CDL or commercial driver’s license. If you have a commercial driving license and are pulled over for driving under the influence, you are submitted to a breathalyzer test. If the test you take reveals your BAC is over 0.4%, you will also be charged with a DUI as well as other penalties that could include losing your commercial drivers license.
Learn More About the Drinking Limit in Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, a DUI is taken very seriously, and without the right representation, you could end up being in a lot of trouble. If you have been found to have been above the legal drinking limit in Rhode Island, it is important that you speak with a qualified attorney as soon as possible. At the Law Office of Chad F. Bank, we can assist you with a strong defense. We plan to battle your DUI charges and will do our very best to make sure you get a fair chance in your trial. If you would like to schedule a free consultation, contact our office today at 401-229-5088.